Parliament reforms committee for ministerial vetting

Stories and facts

The Committee of Selection of Parliament has reconstituted the Appointments Committee of the House to vet the 23 ministers and deputy ministers nominated by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo last week.

Chaired by the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu, the nine-member committee includes members such as Alexander Afenyo-Markin as vice chairman, Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Ato Forson, Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, Kwame Agbodza, Elizabeth Ofosu-Adjare, Gifty Twum-Ampofo, and Samuel Atta Akyea, following Order 205 of the revised Standing Orders of the House.

The motion to adopt the committee's report was moved by the Deputy Majority Leader, Mr Afenyo-Markin, and seconded by Mr Agbodza.

Last week, the President nominated 23 ministers of state and their deputies to take over from those who had been reassigned or relieved of their duties, including figures like Dr Bernard Okoe Boye, Ophelia Mensah Hayford, Fatimatu Abubakar, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Dakoa Newman, Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah, Andrew Egyapa Mercer, Titus Glover, Daniel Machator, Sylvester Tetteh, Vincent Ekow Assafuah, Charles Acheampong, Adelaide Ntim, Alexander Akwasi Acquah, Dr Prince Hamidu Armah, Akwasi Konadu, Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba, John Kobina Sanie, Collins Adomako Mensah, Prof. Kingsley Nyarko, Festus Awuah Kwofie, and Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah.

Explore the life of Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin below.



Be the first to leave a comment!