Meet Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the new Majority Leader

Stories and facts

After Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu's resignation, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Deputy Majority Leader and MP for Efutu, assumes the role of Majority Leader. Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa, becomes the Deputy Majority Leader, while Frank Annoh-Dompreh, MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri, continues as Chief Whip. Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon, is appointed Deputy Whip, and Alex Tettey Djonobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra, becomes the Second Deputy Whip.

Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu announced his resignation during a significant meeting at the presidency in Accra. Joseph Osei-Owusu, First Deputy Speaker of Parliament and MP for Bekwai, expressed disappointment at the resignation, commending Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu's leadership and dedication. However, Osei-Owusu dismissed claims of coercion, stating he had no evidence to support such allegations.

Explore the life of Alexander Afenyo-Markin

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu is the incumbent Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs.

Discover the life of Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu



Be the first to leave a comment!