Meet the 13 Speakers of Parliament since 1949

Stories and facts

The office of the Speaker in Ghana originated in the Gold Coast (now Ghana) in 1950, according to the Gold Coast (Constitution) Order in Council.

Sir Emmanuel Charles Quist became the inaugural Speaker in 1951 and served until Ghana's independence in December 1957. Before this, the legislative council was overseen by the Governor of Ghana until 1949, when Emmanuel Quist became its first African president, later becoming the first Speaker in 1951.

In the fourth republic, Daniel Francis Annan held the longest tenure as Speaker from 1993 to 2001, while Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo became the first female Speaker in January 2009.

Here is a list of some of the Speakers of the Parliament of Ghana and their respective tenures.

  • Sir Emmanuel Charles Quist: March 1957–December 1957 (National Assembly)

  • Augustus Molade Akiwumi: February 1958–June 1960 (National Assembly)

  • Joseph Richard Asiedu: July 1960–June 1965 (1st Republic)

  • Kofi Asante Ofori-Atta: June 1965–February 1966 (1st Republic)

  • Nii Amaa Ollennu: October 1969–January 1972 (2nd Republic)

  • Jacob Hackenbug Griffiths-Randolph: September 1979–December 1981 (3rd Republic)

  • Daniel Francis Annan: January 1993–January 2001 (4th Republic, 1st and 2nd parliaments)

  • Peter Ala Adjetey: January 2001–January 2005 (4th Republic, 3rd parliament)

  • Ebenezer Sekyi Hughes: January 2005–January 2009 (4th Republic, 4th parliament)

  • Joyce Adeline Bamford-Addo: January 2009–January 2013 (4th Republic, 5th Parliament)—First female Speaker

  • Edward Adjaho: January 2013–January 2017 (4th Republic, 6th Parliament)

  • Aaron Mike Oquaye: January 2017–January 2021 (4th Republic, 7th parliament)

  • Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin: January 2021, Incumbent (4th Republic, 8th parliament)



Be the first to leave a comment!