4 Ghanaians who led Ghana's Electoral Commission since 1969

Stories and facts

The Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC), established by the Electoral Commission Act of 1993, administers all public elections in the country with a seven-member body.

Before the Act of 1993, V.C.R.A.C. Crabbe led the permanent electoral commission for the 1969 Ghanaian election. Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan was the inaugural chairman until 2015, succeeded by Charlotte Osei until June 2018, and then by Jean Adukwei Mensah. As of 2023, Ghana boasts 33,367 polling stations and 38,622 voting stations.

Below is a timeline detailing the chairpersons of the Electoral Commission.



Be the first to leave a comment!